Reblog: Thoughts on being called prolific

My reblog this week comes from the eminent William Meikle:

WILLIAM MEIKLE

Puffinswrite Aye, right

I’m aware I have a bit of a reputation for writing a lot.

I’m not sure I do, really – I average about 1200 words a day. Over the course of a year it works out to a lot of words, and a lot of stories, novellas and novels. I also end up throwing a fair bit aside in editing. For example, this year it adds up to 2 novels, 2 novellas and 24 short stories. For a full time writer, which is what I am these days, it certainly doesn’t feel like I’m pushing it – I could do more. A lot more. Other writers certainly do, and I know folks who average twice what I manage, and do it easily.

What I am good at, to a degree, is finding appropriate markets. It’s something I honed back in the small press days before the internet, when…

View original post 282 more words

Leave a Reply

