Reblog: A reclusive life

I’m not entirely sure why I chose to reblog this, but it spoke to me and sometimes that is enough. It reminds me of both the great sadness of life, and the great beauty of it.

Have We Had Help?

Solitary-path

Whether we live in a loving family environment, or lead a solitary existance is all down to circumstance. In my own case these days I exist hidden away from society and the world, behind securely locked front and back doors. Why? Because like countless others across the planet, life has dealt me more than one cruel blow during my lifetime.

When I was nineteen I was deliriously happy, married for a brief eighteen months to a beautiful Montagnard girl named Mai. When we wed in a magical Buddhist ceremony, Mai was seventeen and I was eighteen. We later had a sweet baby boy – John. Without going into gruesome details, suffice it to say that because of a cruel act of war, both Mai and John were killed by friendly fire. John was just four months old at the time.

From that terrible day until this, I simply could never…

View original post 268 more words

Leave a Reply

